• View from the Villa terras
  • Villa from the Bale Bengong
  • Villa Temple

Guestbook vacation rentals Villa Insulinde and Lumbung

Below the reviews of our guests as described in the guestbooks of Villa Insulinde and Lumbung. Where necessary, their contribution has been translated into English.

Score 5.0 / 5 of 44 ratings in 98 reviews.

   Abbreviations: VI = Villa Insulinde, LU = Lumbung

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Villa Insulinde a 5* Tropical Paradise

No words can describe Villa Insulinde. The moment you walk into this villa with the stunning sea views and fabulous outdoor terrace with fans, you're in for a dream holiday. This villa has a stylish interior and is very well maintained. Very clean. Bedrooms (with cold AC) with high ceilings, walk in bathrooms and wardrobes. The pool is great with sun loungers for 8 people and direct access to the lava beach. The garden is huge and very well cared for with trees, flowers, a fish pond and water lilies. We had no reason to venture out as we loved it to just stay at the villa, although it’s very easy to get to Lovina by car or scooter. Staff at the villa is fantastic. Very friendly and efficient and they provide assistance in organising trips, in house massage, pick up for dinners in hotels/restaurants, but one will find that the best option is to stay at the villa and enjoy the excellent cooking skills of the staff!! The best food we had in Bali. Staff will also arrange for shoppings and only need to be provided with funds to cover the expenses. Communications with the friendly owners is efficient. Airport pick up can be arranged at the regular cost. We will remember this stay and will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

A delicious indulgence

A beautiful house just outside Lovina. Ideal for a relaxing and luxurious beach holiday in Bali. The house is fully equipped and you have the possibility that delicious meals are cooked by Indra and Putu three times a day. In addition, you have access to a private chauffeur to drive you anywhere. We have enjoyed the luxury of the villa, the beautiful island and lovely people for two weeks.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Perfect experience!

My family and I had an amazing time here at this little slice of paradise! The accommodation is of a high standard and the staff is great! If you want to explore there is plenty to do in the near vicinity, everything from good dining to snorkeling! But I can't really think of a reason to leave the villa! ;)

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI + LU - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

Vacation in Paradise

We, 9 adults and 3 children, landed in Denpasar in the evening and were already awaited by our drivers at the airport. The transfer was organized by the owner and worked wonderfully.

The first impression of the villa was overwhelming and we were warmly greeted by Putu the night watchman. The houses are much nicer and bigger than the photos on the Internet promise !!!

The houses and grounds are well maintained and kept in great condition by the housekeeping staff Putu and Indra and the gardeners Putu and Kadek. The staff is very accommodating, very nice and helpful. All our wishes were fulfilled. The food of Indra and Putu was always excellent and very tasty !!!

With driver Putu one can make great excursions and he showed us a lot of Bali.

We were very pleased with everything, from the first contact until the departure everything was perfect.

We felt well prepared.

We can only recommend the villa and really enjoyed our holiday there.

Also see review on: FeW0-Direkt / HomeAway

A. Sihn-Weber (AT) - (LU - Aug 2016) (Original)

We do not have any complaints!

On the opposite, we had a great and relaxing week and your staff was very nice and helpful.

So, we really would recommend Villa Insulinde (where I was 5 years ago) and Lumbung.

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

A perfect place to relax and to spent a vacation with your (young) children.

We were more than satisfied. So no tips. The owners know exactly how to manage a luxurious villa. The swimming pool was kept clean and chemicals were added in the evening. the staff speaks English and prepares fresh and real nice meals.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Simply heaven

This would have to be as close to paradise as you could ever get. Villla Insulinde itself is simply amazing. We have a beautiful infinity pool that is all ours and it's right at the edge of the beach. We have five staff to look after us. Sudik Arsini and Indra Vera have cooked us beautiful meals which are served on the balcony every day. We have two men Putu and Kadek looking after the grounds and pool. And Putu is our security guard at night. The staff have been fantastic. I never ever want to leave!! If anyone wants information on the villa feel free to contact me but heaven help you if you try to book at the same time as me. Lol

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor or Facebook

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

The most perfect villa

This was our second stay at villa Insulinde - but it's never long enough! This villa is our idea of paradise. Set in idyllic tropical gardens, overlooking Lovina's black sand beach. The only way to describe the villa in general - is grand. From the front gate and driveway - you look through the open doors of your villa - through the main hall - across the pool and out at the ocean. The rooms are large - with high ceilings, stylish modern amenities and a walk through robe. All rooms are air conditioned - but we only used it in the bedrooms as the ocean breeze cooled off the rest of the villa nicely. Meals were served on the back terrace (where we spent most of our time) overlooking the 12 x 6 meter pool and koi ponds. We paid for the groceries - the girls Sudik and Indra went and bought them and prepared some of the best meals we have ever eaten in Bali - or anywhere else! When we got sick of the terrace - we would head down to the hut by the beach to get a massage (they come to you) or walk past the pool for a stroll on the beach. It really is absolutely paradise. It's in a quiet area (unbelievably tranquil) set about ten minutes from the heart of Lovina. You can get hotels to come and pick you up for dinner, hire a driver for the day (there's some good shopping in nearby Singaraja) or hire your own transport to get around - but if you're anything like us - you won't want to leave the villa!! Next time - we will stay 3 weeks!!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

K. Ekeli (NO) - (VI - Jul 2016) (Original)

Hi there, so now we're back again. Have to admit it feels a bit strange. Amazing how we got used to living at Villa Insulinde. Now we suddenly have to adapt to complicated tasks like making our own coffee in the morning.

The time at the Villa was perfect from start to end. We just loved the set-up and the location. Obviously the staff was just excellent, Indra and Putu in particular. Their flexibility and level of service was an important contribution to making our stay a complete success. We had intentions of travelling a lot around with the Villa as a base, however, we came pretty fast to the conclusion that the place filled all our requirements for a good vacation, both for adult, semi adults, and the children. We had an ambition of learning our youngest to swim, and on the second last day, he went 2 times across your pool, mission accomplished and forever remembered.

If there is anything to complain about, it must be that the "promotional" pictures of Villa Insulinde doesn't serve the place justice. It was far better than we had envisioned, but I may already have told you that.

Anyway, thanks a lot for a very very good holiday, and we sure hope that we will get the opportunity to come back some day.

M. Schepers (NL) - (LU - Jun 2016) (Translated)

Hi guys! 😃

We really appreciate all you've done for us during our stay in Villa Insulinde. Therefore, I've made this movie (video) as a token of our gratitude, hope you'll like it as much as we do 🌴.

Special thanks to Hetty & Herman!

A. Baker (US) - (VI - May 2016)

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Ahh the serenity :-)

We were captivated the minute we drove through the gates of Villa Insulinde and looked through the generous open plan living area through to the spectacular pool and ocean beyond. The photos don't do this villa justice - it is just beautiful. We were warmly greeted by the staff who were friendly and provided exceptional service throughout our entire stay. More than just a well maintained villa, it felt like a much loved home and the staff take great care in their job. Discreet and polite, they made us feel very welcome and were also very helpful and able to organise anything needed from the practical (a doctor, laundry, shopping etc) through to the frivolous (in-villa spa treatments, fishing trip etc). We also made use of the fabulous cooking skills of Putu and Indra and had delicious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner (try the mie goreng, nasi goreng, chicken sate and banana pancakes!!).

The booking process through owners Herman and Hetty was excellent - they were friendly, flexible and responsive and provide excellent information about the villa, area and services to make our stay as easy as possible. The villa is big and surrounded by gorgeous gardens. The 3 bedrooms (2 double and 1 twin) are large with huge ensuites. The beds and pillows were very comfy and excellent showers. There are 2 massive daybeds - 1 inside the living space and one on the edge of the garden overlooking the ocean. Free wi-fi was included and the signal was generally strong. When we weren't swimming we spent most of our time on the veranda which has a comfy lounge (seating for 8) and dining table, fans.....and a mesmerising view. We can't wait to go again and stay longer - it was fabulous!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

My best holiday in many years!!!

It was my first time on Bali, but certainly not my last! As we arrived the first night at villa Insulinde we couldn't believe our eyes. Everything was so much bigger and better as we already seen on the pictures that we thought to been dropped off by the neighbours!!

Next day by sunlight we could see more of the garden and the sea just in front of us! As we did meet the personnel the first day we could not expect that we would leave 17 days later, having a feeling that we left family there as well!! The cooking was delicious, every day again!

Just home now for almost two weeks and already miss the villa and their personnel, further to mention as friends!!! Herman and Hetty, thank you so much to rent me your house on Bali for these days, it was an experience I will not forget, and Indra and Putu, love you both!!!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

M. Fredericks (AU) - (LU - Mar 2016)

Owner (NL) - (VI & LU - Feb 2016) (Translated)

In addition to general maintenance of villa Insulinde and Lumbung this time also:

  • A new personnel entrance door to the main road.
  • A new door between villa Insulinde and the Lumbung for increased privacy.

- (VI - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

Unique!

We are excited about the house, the staff and Bali! From the reservation request to check out - everything went smoothly, everything is very professionally organized, you feel cared for, and just want to stay as long as possible there. Many thanks to all the staff, we'll be back!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Simple Perfect!

Villa Insulinde is the perfect place for a totally relaxing break. To begin with, the booking process was extremely smooth and Herman provided us with all the information we could possibly need before we even arrived. The information pack was so comprehensive that we had very few, if any, questions about our stay.

From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable and at home. It was even more beautiful than we had hoped; the villa design, the gorgeous pool and the perfectly maintained gardens were so inviting that we rarely left the villa; preferring to rest, read and spend time together as a family.

The meals prepared by the staff were delicious and they went out of their way to make sure our every need was looked after. We didn't even feel the need to try out any local restaurants; why go out when the food at "home" was so very good!!!

We are already planning to return to this little piece of paradise. We love Bali and have travelled there many times; but we avoid the south which has become so dreadfully busy. Lovina and Villa Insulinde are simply perfect.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Great location, great villa, great staff

We stayed with our family in Villa Insulinde during New Year and can surely recommend it for a relaxing holiday. Booking process was flawless, arrival well arranged and support of the staff during our stay was excellent. If you want to escape the hustle and bustle of every day life visit this place, relax at the sea, eat well and enjoy the cool and silence of the evenings. Paradise is close....

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

Owner (NL) - (VI & LU - Nov 2015) (Translated)

In addition to general maintenance of villa Insulinde and Lumbung this time also:

  • A new outdoor shower for the Lumbung.
  • (Fiberglass) cable Internet and TV for villa Insulinde.
  • (Almost) all light bulbs replaced with LED lights.

E. Baerthlein (DE) - (LU - Oct 2015) (Original)

We had a great time in the beautiful Vila! Very nice place and absolutely great service! We really enjoyed our stay. We were really lucky to leave just in time, one day later and we would have been stuck due to the volcano.

- (VI + LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Great villa right on the beach! Awesome pool and view!

Perfectly located and well maintained villa on north side of Bali. Staff is friendly and professional, they helped us to organise all trips and transfers we needed. Food prepared by staff was awesome too! Highly recommended!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

J. Lebroussois (FR) - (VI + LU - Oct 2015) (Original)

Our stay was perfect.

Your villa is beautiful and well done, beach and sea perfect, your staff is very kind.

Thanks a lot for all that.

We will come back next year

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Style and tranquility right on the beach

We spent five weeks at the Villa Insulinde, joined from time to time by friends and family. The consensus was unanimous that it was the perfect getaway for a chill-out holiday. The three bedrooms, each with its own ensuite and air conditioning is ample for six people. There is a large, well equipped kitchen, a large living/dining room with comfy day bed, and a media room, but the best space where we spent most time is he huge shaded verandah. The verandah looks out over the charming garden and pool to the sea, a perfect spot for sundowners, chatting and eating.

Everyone adored the huge deep pool, with a ledge at the deep end to stand and watch the waves roll in, only metres beyond the fence. The surroundings are a combination of rice fields and other villas along the beach - ensuring peace and quiet, just the sound of the sea, the wind chimes and laughter.

It is several kilometres into town, but the local restaurants will arrange pick up and return service and you can catch a bemo into town, modest and not too touristy but with tour services, some warungs, a good fruit market and other food shopping.

The staff are friendly and helpful and good cooks, preparing breakfast and any other meals you would like, arranging for the fishermen to take you out for dolphin spotting or other tours. We can thoroughly recommend this villa for a group or couple for a delightful and peaceful holiday.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI + LU - ) (Translated)

We again had a marvelous holiday in Villa Insulinde and Lumbung. Even my friend, who was this time for the first time in Bali, really enjoyed it.

Everything was just as beautiful as three years ago. Also the staff was very nice and cooked great.

But one notices that even in the north of Bali there are slowly more tourists. Almost all the houses in the immediate vicinity were occupied and 500m at the right on the beach a new Beach bar / beach restaurant opened.

The road works at Jalan Lotus have begun, but we had no restrictions. I think all are looking forward to the new road.

We want to thank you, we really had again a great holiday on Bali! And we very much hope to come back again.

- (VI + LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Great homebase for exploring the north of Bali.

With our family of nine, aged between 86 and 11 years, we loved to come home to this place after exploring the north of the island with its many highlights. These beautiful villas offer ample space for everyone’s taste and mood, if you feel like swimming, playing a game or quietly reading a book in the corner of the beautiful gardens. The staff is very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed delicious, Balinese meals. Activities like snorkeling /diving, visiting sites like temples and markets were easy to arrange with help of the staff. We all enjoyed this paradise and definitely would like to come back!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

M. Vercruysse (BE) - (VI - Jul 2015)

D. Storck (DE) - (VI - Jul 2015)

- (VI + LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Excellent villa for a group adventure in Bali

As part of a recent pre-wedding group adventure in Bali, my wife and I selected this beach-side villa as our week-long home in North Bali. We could not have been more happy with the location, the quality of the villa, the helpfulness of the staff and owners, or the facilities and layout. The rooms were well maintained and spacious, and we were able to have several group dinners at the excellent outdoor table.

Combined with the second building, the villa has a good mix of rooms, from more central to more private, but all were clean and well serviced, with great exposure to the ocean, as well as two excellent pools. Of course, for most of the time we were there, sleeping outside at night was a real possibility, and some of our guests used the excellent sea-side bale for just this very purpose.

The staff went greatly out of their way to ensure that we had a great time, helping arrange transportation and trips regularly, even dealing with some unfortunate accidents that occurred along the way. The food prepared was sumptuous and varied and dispelled the rumor, badly wrong, that the food in Bali was plain. To the contrary, all of the meals were desirable and evocative of Bali taste, but the staff even accommodated special needs and were able to prepare more conventional meals when requested.

If you are traveling to Bali and you want a more authentic experience, then we would highly recommend the Lovina area over far more touristy Kuta and the groomed beaches of the south. This area was ideally situated for scuba and snorkeling tours to Menjangen Island or to early morning volcano hikes at Batur. You also have more serene territory in the surrounding area that leaves aside the hustle and bustle of Dencarik and Ubud.

Of course, the small downside here is that the beach outside the villa isn't particularly spectacular, nor is the ocean particularly dramatic. But what you lose in waves, you gain some local color.

We had the opportunity to see a handful of villas across the island, and this one was clearly the best villa for the value. You can't go wrong here. You will have a magical time.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

H. Friese (DE) - (LU - Jun 2015)

Owner (NL) - (VI & LU - May 2015) (Translated)

Renewed last part of the roof (alang alang). Painted villa on the outside and inside. Refurbished all tables, chairs and sunbeds.

J. Nimod (FR) - (VI - May 2015)

- (VI - ) (Original)

I can't tell how astonished we were from beginning to end with your property and are already planning on coming back! Your staff has been so helpful and lovely and were the cherry on the top of our already incredible vacation! Thank you again for one of the best vacations we have ever had!

A. Kelley (CA) - (VI - Apr 2015)

- (VI - ) (Original)

A little bit of heaven!!! On my families last trip to Bali we decided to go to Lovina and have a look at another part of Bali. We found Villa Insulinde and checked in for five days. It is the most amazing villa with fabulous staff. Each morning sitting on the balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean I had to pinch myself to believe I was really there. Once there you don't need to leave the villa as the staff will cook for you (fabulous meals), the massage ladies will come to you (there is a Bali hut near the beach) and to be honest you never want to leave anyway. Even the boat for dolphin watching picks you up in front of the villa. The villa itself is spacious and luxurious. Now at home again all I can think of is how fast I can get back to Bali and Villa Insulinde. Thanks to all the staff (five of them) who looked after us like we were royalty. Can't wait to get back again!

- (VI - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

Last December we spent three weeks (including Christmas and New Year's Eve) at this wonderful location. It was our second time. The year before only the two of us. This year with friends with a three years old son and our twins of 8 months.

The owners are willing to arrange everything for you. Extra baby cots (with mosquito nets) and high chairs were arranged upfront. We were picked up at the airport by the regular driver of the villa and taken to the villa. Along the way we briefly met the owners who were on their way back home. Arriving at the villa felt like we had never been away. The staff welcomed us with a smile and the twins were hugged as if they were part of their own family.

Then began the great enjoyment. A beautiful location, with pool, direct beach access and a villa with all amenities and all set in a beautifully kept garden. Every day a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner were prepared. The staff took over the concern of the twins to a large extent if we wanted this. Therefore we could also enjoy. After a few days the children smiled themselves as they saw one of the staff members. It did not matter whether it was a gardener, watchman, or one of the ladies of the house staff.

One of our friends had a birthday and the staff responded by additional extensive cooking and helping with organizing a cake. Everything was possible in consultation. Villa Insulinde is a piece of paradise on earth, thanks to the friendly staff, the beautiful surroundings and the delicious food!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

The last three weeks of December we stayed at this villa together with friends and three young children. Two babies and a three year old. The last one had the time of it's life with the large swimming pool and played with the children on the beach and the end of each day. The Villa is ideally situated direct at the Lovina beach. The staff, 3 for household and kitchen and 2 for the garden, made our visit unforgettable. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were very well prepared and they also took care for the kids sometimes so we had some time of our own. The villa has it's own driver (extra payment) who showed us around (Dolphins, Ubud, Rice fields) and took care of the airport transfers. This villa is an excellent choice for staying in this part of the Bali Island.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

The villa is set beautifully right on the beach. The sea was warm during our stay. Both villa Lumbung and villa Insulinde are extraordinary. Villa Lumbung with two good bedrooms and a lovely open kitchen and living room on second floor. Villa Insulinde is a dream. Spacious and luxurious. The pools were great. Our kids (4 and 6 years) loved it. The staff is really friendly, service minded and easy going. Don´t go to restaurants while staying here, you get high class home cooked Indonesian food prepared by the staff - and you only pay for the ingredients. The villa is set on the countryside, a few minutes’ drive to Lovina. Except the lazy days spent by the pools we had a really nice experience snorkeling at nearby Menjangan Island (only an hour’s drive away). We are coming back!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

We booked this villa only the day before we arrived and everything was ready to receive us. How surprised we were! This villa is absolutely beautiful, very large with a beautiful garden, a beautiful pool. The beach in front of the villa is nice and you can swim easily. The villa is very well equipped, nothing is missing. We changed our program to stay one more night in this dream location. The staff is very welcoming, friendly, smiling, all is there to have a great stay. Thank you to the owner and his team for making our stay so enjoyable in Lovina.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

P. Penney (AU) - (VI - Oct 2014)

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

“Best place for relaxing holidays”

Both villas are great and offer a lot of luxus, but the best of all is the large garden with the amazing view over the pool to the sea. The staff looked very well to us and made the vacation really luxury as we could fully concentrate on relaxing and everything else was done by staff. It's a nice beach directly in front of the villa and the sea was also very clean.

Also see review on: Traum-Ferienwohnungen

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

We spent an amazing time in Villa Insulinde. Everything was just perfect. The house is wonderful and your staff more than perfect. I will definitely recommend the house. Thank you very much for the moment we spent in Lovina. I hope that I would be able to come back one day.

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

“Like Paradise”

We stayed in August in Villa Lumbung and Villa Insulinde. We saw the beautiful photos on the website before our stay, but in real it is like paradise. The garden of both Villas is very colorful and kept immaculate by the friendly gardeners Kadek and Putu. The Villas are very clean and have nice furnishings. Ketut, Putu and Indra were cleaning the rooms every day and they also cooked wonderful meals. They were very endeavored to fulfill every wish with a smile. For our safety Putu (the security) came every night to watch over the villas. All of the staff were very friendly, welcoming and made very good work. We really enjoyed our stay here and we will recommend it to all our friends and family.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor or Holidaycheck

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Thank you for three unforgettable weeks in paradise!

We had a wonderful time, great place, amazing staff, awesome food and the weather was nice too!

I had the nicest holiday of my life with all my children and grandchildren. Thank you Ketut, Indra, Putu, Kadek and Putu.

Thanks for the greatest time ever.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI & LU - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

Since it is so pleasant, so breathtaking and heartily with you, we are already here for the second time in this treat!

You understand all of our wishes and a - No, Not Possible - does not exist for you.

We very much appreciate this holiday paradise and we adore your food, warmth and hospitality

Dear Indra, Kadek, Ketut, Putu, Putu and Putu. Thank you for everything. You made our stay in Bali like feeling at home. Thank you very much.



Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Paradise in Lovina

Staying at Villa Insulinde and Lumbung for 7 days. The villas are amazing and it’s a true paradise. Beside from being beautiful and spotless, the villa is very peaceful. Even though it took 3-4 hours to get to the Villa from the Airport but it’s worth the drive. This is the place for relaxation and not for shoppers or bar goers. All the amenities are in top notch. Very pleased with the services provided by all the staffs. Ketut, Indra and Putu Sudi are excellent chefs. The cooking was so delicious that we arranged for breakfast and (beautiful sunset) dinner every day at the Villa. (Foods are really cheap, it costs around 10 USD/person/day not including beverages). The gardens are well maintained by Kadek and Putu. J. Always felt safe at night knowing that Putu Sukirta is guarding outside the front gate all night long.

The booking process was flawless and quick. Always receiving prompt reply from the Owner upon sending in the request via e-mail. Everything was present as it was advertised. Will definitely go back to the Villa on the next trip to Bali again if we decide to stay in Lovina.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Perfect vacation

The holiday in the villas was a memorable experience. We (my wife, myself and 9 other people) celebrated our wedding in a perfect location. We were well looked after by the three "angels". Whether culinary, organizational or medical emergencies, our angel was always reliable. The perfect wellbeing was also ensured by the two gardeners and security, something that cannot go unmentioned.

The excursions with our driver Putu, which was also organized by our angels, patiently fulfilled our wishes. Regardless of waiting time or detours, Putu was always available with help and advice.

Finally, and with best wishes to Hetty (thanks for the cake) we can, want and must highly recommend the villas.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Perfect family vacation spot!

This is a perfect spot if you seek something very quiet, far away from the main tourism areas on Bali. We stayed for 8 nights in Villa Insulinde and enjoyed the comfort and the easy going day to day routine very much. The staff is absolutely amazing assisting you in any case to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We ate more or less every day in the Villa, and the indonesian dishes are prepared made to order. Simple and delicious!

Please keep in mind, that this is a "natural" beach - so it could be dirty from time to time - you can use the wonderful pool instead. We still enjoyed it very much as local come by in the evening to have a swim and play with the kids soccer.

I would recommend to stay one night in the south next to the airport before and after traveling to the Villa. This is more relaxed and you could enjoy the scenery of the island and stop on your way to Lovina. The staff can organize the car and drivers to pick and drop anywhere.

From booking, payment, pick up, stay and drop off - everything went smooth - it was a pleasure to stay in Villa Insulinde!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

P. Kettenis (NL) - (VI - Feb 2014)

Y. White (AU) - (VI - Jan 2014)

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

I came back to this villa a second time this January 2014. The same staff (security, gardeners, 2-3 maids) as before, and they are still as helpful. The setting is beautiful, the cooking (if you wish the staff to help you out on this) is excellent, all three rooms are in great condition and there is lot of space to walk around, both inside as well as outside by the pool (which at least for me is sufficient to do some swimming in). I have stayed in the larger villa both times.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

We are so grateful to spend time with our family at your beautiful villa in Bali! It is such a warm and inviting place to stay. We admired your tasteful decor – the panoramic view of the ocean that greeted us each day along with the welcoming smiles of your wonderful staff! Ketut, Putu and Indra prepared the most delicious meals! We loved Christmas dinner – special tablecloth & flowers! And a birthday celebration with an amazing meal and chocolate cake – and a sudden dramatic thunderstorm which was very exiting! It was wonderful to spend a little time in paradise. The villa is spectacular and everyone on staff so friendly and welcoming. The meals that we enjoyed were delicious! It was so interesting to taste and explore Indonesian Balinese cuisine. Another highlight was the Balinese dance performance – our own private show! I loved everything about this place, the pool, the garden, the staff and the ocean right in front of us, it was the perfect place to relax and enjoy everything that Bali has to offer. On our third day we went snorkelling and it was amazing and I highly recommend it. Also ask about a trip to the monkey forest and the zoo in Ubud.

This villa is very relaxing and fun. I enjoyed each part about it especially the pool. The food was amazing and the staff was very kind and helpful. Thank you for everything.

I had a wonderful time in Bali. Everything about the house was great. Although my sister and I got locked in the bathroom, we had an amazing stay. The beautiful ocean view and breeze, really made everyone happy. Many of the things we did were very fun. (Monkey forest, visiting the waterfalls, Ubud zoo and shopping). Thank you to the wonderful staff for making this a vacation to remember.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

When we left Muscat, we had no expectations as usual. Thought of anything like any accommodation. This was not an accommodation, it was our home for the shortest 10 days of our lives. The compliments go to the owners as well as the people who keep the place enjoyable. We thank you all. Our promise is WE WILL BE BACK!!

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Best holiday ever! The house and property are so beautiful and we love all the staff. This is our first trip to Bali and we hope to come back again. We will miss everyone and hope to cross paths again.

What a wonderful, peaceful place we have found here! The people here have been so wonderful also and we will miss them. We loved the cat family too, they are sweet and friendly and they made it feel more like home. We hope to return again one day.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI & LU - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

At the end of our trip in Bali we booked for a week at this amazing place. Agreements were made through the mail and we were picked up by the driver in Ubud. The trip was a foretaste of things to come, the driver is friendly and wants to tell everything. Arriving at the villa the spell was complete. A wonderful place (we started in the guest house) with a beautiful well-kept garden and via the bedroom, past the pool through the garden, straight into the sea.

After a few days we could move to the actual villa, a wonderful free upgrade. Entering through the "front door" I was speechless, by the design of the villa you have an impressive sight from the "front door" onto the garden and the sea beyond. The stay only became better.

The villa also has a permanent staff that cooks for you, cleans, etc. Great lovely people that want to do everything for you, and that can cook deliciously too. With the driver or taxi you can be quickly in Lovina to shop or eat out.

This is a place where you can relax, read, internet, swim and enjoy good food in a luxurious setting. It is on our list to go back to again very quickly.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

The first sight when we arrived was paradise found. The first sound was a collective chins hitting the ground. The second sight was the beaming faces of the wonderful staff. The second sound was that of we "ancients", "wowing" like adolescents who said "cocoon" was a myth?? Beautiful place, beautiful people. Awesome!!!! Thank you for creating beautiful space for us to relax.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

K. Olde Riekerink (NL) - (VI & LU - Oct 2013)

P. Scheibe (DE) - (VI & LU - Oct 2013) (Translated)

Thank you very much for the wonderful time - we enjoyed every single day

M. Knispel (DE) - (LU - Sept 2013)

- (VI & LU - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

Had a wonderful holiday with family on the island of Bali. Partly due to the staff of Villa Insulinde we will never forget this. I knew there was a paradise, but now we know for sure, it's here. Thank you all for the great care. Thanks!

NB. For medical care Dr. Made, Excellent!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI & LU - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Java and Bali, of which our stay along with all our children and their partners in Villa Insulinde and Lumbung was a highlight. Location, accommodation and care were in one word excellent. The reality surpassed the pictures we had already seen on the website.

It was wonderful to be able to go to the sea or the pool from our bed every morning and then enjoy an extensive breakfast by Indra and Putu. In particular the numerous, for us partly exotic, fruit was delicious. All of this gave us a wonderful holiday feeling. The gardeners Kadek and Putu were always most friendly and the presence of Putu the watchman gave us a safe feeling.

Ketut of the household, we have not mentioned yet. She's only been present for a short time, since she had to take part in a family ceremony. The times she was there, however, nothing was too much for her. She arranged a cooking class for us at the last minute.

Celebrating my sixtieth birthday was the reason for this stay. The staff has done everything to make this a real celebration. I have never had such a delicious and extensive birthday dinner. I even got presents from them. I was really moved by this.

With driver Putu and his "brothers" we made several trips in the area. To the Brama Vihara Ashrama, the hot springs in Air Panas Banjar, Ubud, the Git Git waterfalls, the Pura Ulun Danu Bratan, the Batur volcano, that we climbed and where we have boiled eggs in the steam from the volcano.

We also spotted dolphins. We were picked up by a number of fishing boats on the beach in front of the villa early in the morning. It took a while before we found them, but our search was amply rewarded. How fascinating to see these creatures swimming and jumping in the water.

We look back at an altogether unforgettable stay at Villa Lumbung and Insulinde.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Having said goodbye to my parents, my sister and her children today, we leave tomorrow after the most fantastic and unforgettable holiday ever. When we asked the children on our last evening of our 3 week stay, what their memories of Bali were, the replies just kept coming:

swimming in a warm sea; the pool; massages; Catherine at the boat restaurant; dolphin watching; sandcastles on the beach; flying fish; shells; warm spring baths; temples; buddist monastery; riding on the back of Kadek and Putu's mopeds; Jimmy Hendricks Dance group; sunrise over the sea; the ancient village near Batur and the graves; the volcano; mountain biking in the hills near Lovina; quad bikes and whitewater rafting; bartering in the market in Ubud; being invited to a ceremony at Putu, the driver's family temple and wearing traditional clothes; riding in a bemo; swimming with dolphins; snorkelling; riding on an elephant; visiting the market at Sirririt with Ketut; going to the ceremony of Knowledge at the school where Putu, Ketut, Indra and Putu's children go; the beautiful scenery; visiting friends at Jimbaran Bay; ducks in the paddy fields; standing on the sand bank; buying bracelets and bartering with Alex on the beach; having our nails painted by Putu and Indra; the friendliness of the Balinese people; evening chorus at dusk; swimming in mountain streams; watching families being transported by motorbike; treasure hunt around the garden.....

but the overriding memories for all of us are of the lovely people here at Villa Insulinde - Ketut, you arranged all our trips so calmly and efficiently; with Indra and Putu you served up the most delicious food, kept the house looking beautiful and shopped for us each day; Putu and Kadek, you kept the garden so clean and tidy, it was a pleasure to spend time in it - the continual cleaning of the pool meant the children were happy to spend many hours playing and swimming in it; Putu, you kept us feeling safe at all times and we looked forward to your friendly greeting each evening. Our abiding memory will be of the friendliness with which you greeted us each day and the calm and serene way you went about your daily work. It has been an honour to be shown parts of your lives outside of Villa Insulinde.

Thank you for making our experience so special - we will never forget your smiles and hope that we will be able to return one day. It would be lovely to be able to return one day, but we will certainly mention it to friends in England who may want that special holiday of a lifetime. Many thanks from us all.

PS - we tried to think of things you may wish to improve, but couldn't think of anything!

M. Skotnicki (NL) - (VI & LU - July 2013)

F. Marijnissen (NL) - (VI & LU - July 2013)

T. Hardy (AU) - (VI - July 2013)

J. Sosna (SG) - (LU - June 2013)

- (VI & LU - ) (Translated)

After 6 weeks Australia we conclude our journey in Bali. The last week in Villa Insulinde and Lumbung. Our parents have come to Bali to conclude this very special trip with us. After a very active first week we especially enjoy the tranquillity and we are being pampered by Ketut, Indra and Ariz. Excellent, what are we going to miss this! Special thanks to Ketut, Indra and Ariz. We (and Especially Danie) are going to miss you.

M. van Zagten (NL) - (VI & LU - May 2013)

- (VI & LU - ) (Original)

We appreciated the lovely stay. The food was always good. Many thanks to all who made this possible. The Swiss & Australian connection

Thank you Ketut, Indra and Ariz for all your wonderful meals and hard work keeping everything clean and tidy. Your happy smiles made our days a pleasure. Kadek and Putu made the beach and garden a pleasure to use. The villa ambience is an experience not to be missed. Last but not least Putu thank you for keeping us safe at night and your happy greetings. The Australian & Swiss family.

- (LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Our only complaint was we had to move out, we did get lucky and find another Villa farther along the beach. So it wasn't that bad. You staff are amazing. They even helped us move along the beach. We will be back.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

S. van der Zee (NL) - (VI - March 2013)

- (LU - ) (Original)

  Rating 5 of 5

Your villa was the best of our trip, by far! I am still looking at pictures and telling others about how beautiful it was. Your staff was amazing and the amenities were on point.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

C. Miles (CN) - (VI & LU - March 2013)

J. Harskamp (NL) - (VI - February 2013) (Translated)

We have left your paradise this morning. We have now landed in Ubud, but wanted to let you know that we really had a wonderful time in your villa. The pictures on the website do not do justice to the place according to us. The staff deserve a special mention. They have cared of us very well (you also get greetings from Putu the security guard). Thanks again for the great experience and we may even be coming back.

L. Ng (CN) - (VI & LU - February 2013) (Original)

Had a lovely stay. Felt like movie-stars in the beautiful surroundings. Thanks so much! Thanks Ketut and Putu in particular.

G. Lasserre (FR) - (LU - January 2013)

K. Reid (AU) - (VI - January 2013) (Original)

Sorry we speak only English or Bahasa. What a magical place, we absolutely love the wonderful ambience of this place. I felt like someone famous lying on the day bed gazing out over the pool and the sea! Our children had a ball in the garden and beautiful pool. Your staff are wonderful and should be commended for their great service. I think a pay rise is on order. Your security guard was very nice and we hope to visit again. Ketut and the girls did a super job and the gardeners have done such a beautiful job also. Terima Kasih Banyak.

M. Waldmann (CH) - (VI - December 2012) (Translated)

Much too quickly the two weeks here were over for us. While we had been looking forward for it for so long! We had a very relaxing time here in Villa Insulinde. Thanks also to all the "Staff" that spoiled us very much. Tomorrow we have to leave this "Little Paradise" here and make our way to a cold Beijing.

F. Cortenraad (DE) - (LU - December 2012) (Translated)

We had a wonderful time here in the Lumbung. Enjoyed the days with sun and rain. The discreet care of Ketut and all other staff. All are helpful, friendly and very nice. We will miss the great views of the sea, the beautiful garden (and "the greenest green"). Thanks to Hetty for all her tips and the music collection that completely met our taste. We take with us the absolute holiday feeling, the relaxation and many beautiful pictures of Bali.

M. Bischof (AT) - (VI - November 2012) (Translated)

Today, I finally have the time to let you know on behalf of my two travel companions and myself how comfortable we felt in your home. We were extremely happy - the service and the care of the staff exceeded all expectations, and the house as a complete package with the friendly Balinese staff is worth recommending - thanks again to the "Five". Our photos are finally ready and we will strongly advertise you amongst our friends in Germany and Austria - we also want to return as soon as possible. . .

S. Jensen (US) - (LU - November 2012) (Original)

Thank you all so much for the best and most restful vacation our family has ever taken. The food was delightful, meal after meal. Everyone here is so friendly and the Lumbung is so comfortable to stay in. My children loved the pool most of all. We had fun shopping in the market and will carry home 3 paintings and a small suitcase full of treasures as reminder of our first trip to Bali. God willing, we will see all of you again.

F. Bonekamp and Bommel (NL) - (VI - October 2012) (Translated)

We enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Villa Insulinde. We were very well looked after, being pampered by Ketut and Indra, but also by Kadek and Komang, and Putu, "for your security". A great staff! It was nice that Ketut answered all our questions, quickly helped and she arranged trips to Menjangan Island, Gili and Ubud. A special word of thanks to Putu, "our driver", a man with humor and hospitable (we had a delicious dinner at his home in Dencarik yesterday and met his wife and daughter). Remarkable also how fast he, but also Ketut, learn to speak good English. Overall a great time, we will definitely come back.

- (VI - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

Firstly, a big thank you for organizing our visit earlier than planned. When we arrived we were amazed by your beautiful villa Insulinde. Manoa felt at home as soon as he walked through the door .... and so did we!
We had a wonderful holiday in an idyllic setting surrounded by all your staff that have been extremely kind, even if at times they did not understand us. A big thank you to Putu for all the love he gave to Manoa, a heartbreaking farewell. The same for Indra and Ketut who were busy in the kitchen to prepare all meals and took care of Manoa, who always stayed in their neighborhood. To Kadek and Komang who had a good laugh with Manoa sprinkling all corners of the garden. Our return to Switzerland will be very difficult! Hoping to return soon. A big kiss to everyone.

Also see review on: Mediavakanties

B. Gleirscher (DE) - (VI - August 2012)

M. Schreyer (DE) - (LU - August 2012)

G. Schindler and Stätter (DE) - (VI - August 2012) (Translated)

Thank you for two fantastic weeks. It was even better than the pictures on the website suggested. Indra, Ketut, Kadek, Komang and Putu know how to pamper their guests. We will miss the delicious food. " Heute ist nicht aller Tage - wir kommen wieder – keine Frage " (Today I'll go away, but I'll be back another day!) Thanks to all.

M. Scotnicki (NL) - (VI & LU - August 2012)

A. Woerner (DE) - (LU - July 2012)

P. Frohn (NL) - (VI - July 2012) (Translated)

On the pictures it already looked nice, but once we were inside we could not believe our eyes! A beautiful house with nice views of the beach and wonderful sunrises. Then there is the wonderful staff, Indra and Ketut who prepare the finest Indonesian dishes. Putu who came for a little chat every night. Then Kadek and Komang who work very hard to care for this beautiful garden! All top people. We have had a great last week here! Thank you very much.

S. Schulz (DE) - (VI & LU - July 2012)

G. van der Sluijs (NL) - (VI - June 2012)

- (VI - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

After a long journey we were amazed when entering the gate of the villa in the evening. A wonderfully lit courtyard with a beautiful villa and welcoming staff awaited us. Waking up every morning with the sea on our doorstep is something we will never forget. The lovely landscaped garden makes it a serene place to be. The staff took very good care of us. Ketut is a wonderful cook, let her surprise you. Definitely take a driver to show you the different sites in the area. After seeing a few of the other villas on the island, we will definitely be coming back to this one. Everything we needed had been provided for. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

A. Muerwald (DE) - (VI - April 2012)

B. Nijman (NL) - (VI - March 2012) (Translated)

What a pity that a holiday is so short ... We spent one week here in the house, a week of enjoyment, swimming, relaxing, lounging, beach ..... varied with trips! The villa is beautiful: what a beautiful home. Our visit coincided with Nyepi, the Balinese New Year, the silent day. In the days before we were allowed to witness many processions: Ogo-Ogo and even more big and small ceremonies, very special! Bali is beautiful ... Thank you for the hospitality and maybe see you again (it's a small world)!

B. Henny (NL) - (VI - March 2012) (Translated)

A lovely (rainy) week with the family, after Singapore and Yogyakarta very relaxed with the friendliest staff – that is always smiling! - and that cooks great, especially if you leave the menu to them. Highly recommended is the eco tour, cycling around Ubud (a very long day, or they can customize it) with rice fields, local villages and temples + good guides. Also a very special "tea" afternoon with Putu (our favourite driver) at home with his family. Greetings from the family Henny.

D. Escure (FR) - (VI & LU - February 2012)

A. Karimi (NL) - (VI - December 2011) (Translated)

We agree with the previously described fantastic experiences. It's a great holiday palace here in Bali. Together with the kids we really enjoyed the villa, pool and beautiful surroundings. We took beautiful pictures of the hummingbirds in the garden and the beautiful surroundings. The walk near Mayong and the horse riding in the hills of Lovina (Pegasus Farm) were really great! Many thanks for the help via email and all the advice.

K. Koegel (DE) - (LU - December 2011)

- (VI - ) (Translated)

  Rating 4 of 5

Always happy, preferably immediately, holidays can be so beautiful, gorgeous, beautiful villa with its own staff, great.

Review on: Holidaycheck

J. van Rossum (NL) - (VI & LU - November 2011) (Translated)

After all previous superlatives, back to simplicity. The elegant simplicity of the decoration, the charming hospitality of the 5 member staff. The simplicity of the view: "The sea! the sea! always the sea! " We enjoyed it. First with the entire 9-member family. Then the two of us relaxing. And they managed it all: meals for many (hint: let Indra and Ketut choose what they want to cook, then real paintings will arrive at the table), but also healthy juices when we were sick (caught a bug somewhere). Done a lot, seen much, a lot of sitting, many thanks!

B. Schwarz (DE) - (VI - October 2011)

R. Stueken (DE) - (LU - October 2011)

M. Hornstra (NL) - (VI - September 2011) (Translated)

Upon arrival we first thought: "This is a misunderstanding, we will soon be directed to the annexe building. When this was not true, both of us were grinning like sheep for at least one hour. "Laisez-faire," Dolce fai niente ', and this is no cliché. And - for those who like it - there is a good lounge/house on the iPod. Impeccable attention to detail. Everything has been thought of. Beautiful garden. With private sea. Thanks for sharing.

Indra, Ketut, Kadek, Komang and Putu: "Sokoma- mawali" kita mungkin memeliki tamu di negara indah

F. Fase (NL) - (LU - August 2011) (Translated)

Our journey across Java began on the 3rd of September. From Jakarta via Bogor, Puncak, Bandung by train to Yogyakarta and from there to Bali. The last evening in Java was in Losari. This trip was fantastic but the arrival at your villa was beyond expectation. It's really beautiful! The Lumbung is a beautiful place and nicely decorated. The swimming pool, garden and sea make the whole into a paradise. The pick up at the airport was well organized and the garlands on arrival. Very nice! The people are very helpful and give you the freedom but the feeling that they are always waiting for you. Losari (a very luxurious resort on Java) can still learn from this! We will enjoy all the beauty here and enjoy your beautiful Lumbung. We are very pleased to have found this on the internet.

W. Weber (AT) - (VI - August 2011) (Translated)

Thanks, that Villa Insulinde exists and that we could spend unforgettable days there! We rarely have been so speechless and overwhelmed upon entering a house or a hotel, as when we arrived at your villa. Fantastic - Brilliant!

P. van West (NL) - (VI & LU - August 2011) (Translated)

We were together here with the family for a wonderful week. After 3 weeks jungle in Sumatra was this very luxurious. In elegant boats out to sea and back again as new. Thanks to the lovely ladies, terima kasih

M. Skotnicki (NL) - (VI & LU - August 2011) (Translated)

We thoroughly enjoyed your "Fairytale House". What a great location, charming villa and a very committed and caring staff! After 20 years of not having been on Bali, it was a party here to start our trip! Definitely recommended to come back.

W. Wolff (NL) - (VI & LU - August 2011) (Translated)

After a beautiful, moving and exciting journey of two weeks on Java, led by three superb coaches (guide, driver and passenger) we arrived at your house yesterday afternoon. We only got stuck with our 20-seater coach after the small bridge. The bus was too big to enter the street and could not really move forward or backward. Fortunately, your people met us and with combined forces we carried all our luggage to the house (and believe me we had a lot!).

After an emotional farewell to our team, we were welcomed with open arms and we could see where we actually had landed ... in paradise! What a beautiful place you have here ... and what are we being spoiled! From the flowers to the CD's, from the pool to the bed, and certainly from the service to the food: everything is perfect. We enjoy it to the fullest. It is the ideal place to digest and reflect on all that we have seen in recent weeks. What a great ending of our unique family trip! Thank you for the fact that we have had the honor to be here.

Greetings on behalf of all nine of us from a hot Bali.

M. Casement (UK) - (LU - August 2011)

F. Vetter (DE) - (VI - July 2011) (Translated)

Our time in Insulinde is now almost over (we go tomorrow at noon). We have not done that much (have otherwise enough "action" in everyday life), and were most of the time in the house. It was wonderful, not least by your attentive and courteous staff. We have enjoyed our time here very much. I could imagine breaking my iron principle of not having a holiday in the same place more than once - and that's saying something!

R. Heinsohn (DE) - (LU - July 2011) (Translated)

Today is our last day on Bali and thus time to write a review. When everyday life is there again we will have otherwise forgotten. For us this holiday, beginning with the planning and your support with some details, became an unforgettable experience. It started with the friendly reception by Putu (it was late when we arrived) with fruit drinks and garlands of Frangipani flowers. Actually, we are overwhelmed by the staff that was always friendly and helpful.

Since our friends had rented the villa, we were given the opportunity to learn and to use the entire location. We are excited about the spacious rooms and the tasteful decor. It was always a pleasure to look out of the bed through the garden to the sea in the morning.

17 years ago, we were 3 weeks in the south of Bali, and there we learned very much about the culture of the Balinese people and of course, almost all attractions. There was a study tour which included a round trip with two days' stay in Blimgbingsari. All the more we are happy now to have traveled the north with the mountains as a backdrop. As a conclusion we can say it has not been lacking anything. On the contrary, our expectations were far exceeded. We look forward to viewing the images (the total has become more than 1500 yet again) in order to consolidate the memories. Thank you and greetings from our last, temporary paradise.

P. Eijkelenboom (NL) - (VI & LU - July 2011) (Translated)

Fantastic! Unfortunately we could only stay three nights but it is already unforgettable for us. A wonderful Villa and Lumbung and the luxury of these nice people around you who care for you is so nice. Many times these days we said to each other "wow, how beautiful it is here." Thanks, Terima Kashi

Thursday we came home after four weeks vacation. Bali was very impressive. We went from Lovina to Amed, Ubud, Kuta and Sanur. All places had something special, sea, dolphins, snorkeling, food, rice fields, massage, relaxation, space, crowds. Driving around on mopeds was also very nice. But then your villa ......

What a fantastic house and location. Built and decorated with so much taste. The staff was fantastic. Sweet quiet people who have spoiled us well. Together with our children and friends we have had memorable days. Thanks that we might enjoy it for a few days.

Hopefully till the next time.

V. Mattern (BE) - (VI & LU - July 2011)

C. Windels (BE) - (LU - June 2011) (Translated)

Every morning and every evening we were enjoying ourselves on the patio bench in the Lumbung. What a peace! Discreet and friendly staff, the night watchman with a warm smile, good food, cool pool, and much more to give us a heavenly week. We felt very spoiled!

I'm just looking at my photos and wanted to thank you again for the very pleasant stay in the Lumbung in June 2011. We had the feeling to live in paradise for one week!

M. Guilbert (FR) - (VI - April 2011) (Translated)

Fantastic house, a dream location. We spent an unforgettable time here. Goodbye, till the next time

T. Freudenberger (DE) - (VI & LU - April 2011) (Translated)

We very much enjoyed the twelve days on Bali in Villa Lumbung and Insulinde. It was a very relaxing holiday; the beautiful and relaxing environment of your villa has contributed significantly to this. We felt very well, both houses are beautiful and offer more than enough space and comfort. The large terrace of Villa Insulinde made us decide to change villa. I am sure you will get guests based on our recommendation; we may come back one more time! The next Bali holiday is almost certain, however we might want to explore the undiscovered part of the island then and therefore not come to the North. Thanks again.

M. Litjens (NL) - (VI & LU - March 2011) (Translated)

In one word great! Through our contact via the Internet it looks like I know you personally. I've lost my heart to this beautiful island, the villa and especially the wonderful people here. Especially the staff! Until next time.

In one word fantastic! The food, the staff, the villa, everything! I always slept in hotels but now I got to know the villa: hotels never again! Next time my children want to come too to learn about my homeland. Thanks and goodbye.

I want you to know that we have really enjoyed your villa and the staff, what a lovely people, nothing is too much for them. We felt a little guilty sometimes to be pampered like this. It was the best vacation of our lives and hope to be able to come back here soon.

D. Escure (FR) - (VI & LU - February 2011) (Translated)

Thank you for this wonderful stay! Bali is a beautiful island but the villa and your welcome remain unforgettable ... and the delicious cooking! Thank you all.

The pool, the sea, the kitchen it is really like in a dream. Thank you very much for this vacation paradise.

Even nicer than the website, Villa Insulinde with the staff: just fantastic. Everything was perfect and the staff takes a wonderful part of it. Thanks for everything.

So nice, so cool to be here. Too bad that time runs so fast here.

- (LU - ) (Translated)

  Rating 5 of 5

We have thoroughly enjoyed it here. After three weeks backpacking in Malaysia and Bali this is something else! From rooms without windows and cockroaches to a fairy palace. We have felt like princesses the last three days. Top! Thanks.

Also see review on: Flipkey or Tripadvisor

D. Harris - Bourdil (FR) - (LU - January 2011) (Original)

After two weeks spent in Dencarik we return to France fresh for a new start. Thank you so much to Ketut and Indra for spoiling us with nice cooking, to Komang and Kadek for the always clean and wonderful garden, and cleaning the beach for us too, and to Putu for making us feel safe at all times. Their good humour and gentleness is what we love in Bali most of all. The Lumbung was perfect for us two and we were happy to discover the North of Bali after two stays in Ubud, that we like so much. Good luck to all of you. Thank you for organising our stay and all the useful information about the villa and Bali, Lovina, …. well done!

H. Eetgerink (NL) - (VI - November 2010) (Translated)

One more night's sleep and our week is over. It went faster than we thought. Today and yesterday we did not do too much, it continued to rain all day. We had rented a scooter but found it not a safe idea to go touring. So we stayed in the house. Me (Dutch-Indonesian), I had to get used to all that staff. I love to do everything myself. Yet, after two days, I liked it to be pampered. It was wonderful here, a real treat. Especially the tranquillity, after the hectic life in Java.

- (LU - October 2010) (Translated)

  Rating 4.8 of 5

Originally we wanted to move after one week in the Lumbung) for a third week in an hotel in Ubud. But the hotel was a disappointment, it rained continuously and Ubud was otherwise not as attractive as we had experienced in the past in 1994. We knew that the beautiful Lumbung was free and we decided to return there after only one night in Ubud.

The presence and activity of the staff we felt as "too overwhelming" at first. Initially we thought it was unusual to be cared for by the staff from 7.30 am to 18.00 pm. But after a short time we started to enjoy this special service. We felt very safe at all times and well cared for during the day. The somewhat shy Ketut, Indra, both gardeners and not to forget the security do a very good job, are always friendly, willing to work, present but not intrusive and very loyal. We cannot complain at all and experienced their full-service as a luxury.

In general, the Lumbung is highly recommended, the main house however absolute luxury. The main house we visited however only briefly and photographed the rooms for interested friends.

Thank you again for the possibility of our extension. With warm regards and best wishes in the warm holiday paradise North Bali. We have really enjoyed the thirteen days in the beautiful Lumbung, we will promote your two houses and will rate them positively on the internet.

Please read an extended review on www.holidaycheck.com (in German)

A. Hoogkamp (NL) – (VI - August 2010) (Translated)

After 2 weeks Ahmed (Eastern Bali) 8 days Villa Insulinde. They were wonderful days thanks to the warm attention of the staff. As others have already said, a good team that cared for our family in an appropriate manner. Both peace and travel: the peace and tranquillity of the Villa from dawn until late, only interrupted by the football on the beach just before sunset. We visited many places of interest, and thanks to the explanation of the English-speaking drivers the deeper meaning of the many customs and ceremonies was made clearer. The staff gave many useful tips. The visit to the children's dance workshop of "Jimmy Hendrix" was very special. The staff can tell more about it. It was a good period in a beautiful location, a beautiful island with a particular culture. We are grateful for all the experiences.

M. Janssens (NL) – (Villa & Lumbung - August 2010) (Translated)

Today we leave again after a delicious 9 days in this superb Villa, with great staff. After having travelled in Australia with 2 motor campers for 3½ weeks, what a great experience was, it was wonderful to relax here with Ketut and Indra, who prepare every meal deliciously; you imagine yourself really to be in paradise. Also the garden men and Putu (guard) made us feel comfortable with the beautiful garden and secure feeling. In one word, delicious, super and thanks. Certainly a place to return one time.

B. Alkmaar (NL) – (LU - August 2010) (Translated)

Three weeks Bali. Three special weeks in my life. Three weeks in the Lumbung, talking to Ketut about her and my life, learn to relax and time to think. I have been sitting on the veranda a lot, most of the time on the mountain side, enjoying the peace and quiet, the beautiful nature and, above all, the peace and quiet of Kadek and Komang, always a friendly good morning, always a laugh and at the end of the day never going away without saying goodbye. Together with Putu I enjoyed watching the stars and listening to the sea. Indra and Ketut with their delicious lunch, dinner and always freshly prepared fruit. Alone in the Lumbung, but with 24 other family members and friends around me spread over 9 villa´s. What a wealth. Bali a beautiful island, the trek to Mayong, the ride to the waterfalls, the nature, the official ceremony in the temple, the people, in short: Bali once in a lifetime but a trip never to forget.

L. Dekkers (NL) – (VI - August 2010) (Translated)

After a stay of 3 delicious weeks we leave the Villa now. What did we enjoy it here. Nothing was too much for the staff. They have given us advice and support. The food they made was delicious. Various recipes we will take back to Holland. The house was perfect and the garden is a feast for the eyes. Another week in Ubud and then back to the Netherlands. We will often speak about your Villa Insulinde. The tours that we have made from here were also fantastic. What a wonderful island Bali is anyway and what a lovely warm people.

C. Buijn (NL) – (VI - July 2010 ) (Translated)

We too have enjoyed it. The children (4 years old) have made their first step to swimming lessons. We will not quickly forget the Villa and the staff. We hope to see your Villa again soon and to be able to benefit from the swimming pools.

- (VI - ) (Translated)

  Rating 4.5 of 5

Fantastic ! What a luxury .... 10 days stay in Villa Insulinde, never to be forgotten. Been to Bali several times so we did not make many trips. We did however spot dolphins .... fantastic to see these animals in the wild. We have had great fun with Indra, Ketut, Putu, Komang and Kadek. A golden staff ! They were very sweet with Yada, our daughter. We also enjoyed the delicious food. We have truly relaxed .... on to the second part of our holiday, Villa Luna in Sanur.

Also see review on: Zoover

R. Sleven en v/d Peunen (NL) (VI - March 2010) (Translated)

We have only had 1 day/evening to enjoy the views, the garden, the fantastic house, the sweet staff, the delicious food, the beautiful music, peace, and much more!. We fully agree with the previous guests, a fantastic location !!

A. Ter Wijlen (NL) (VI - February 2010) (Translated):

The gods here in Bali have certainly been sympathetic these four weeks, because we were allowed to stay in such a beautiful location as Villa Insulinde. What did we enjoy the sun, sea, nature, the nice care of Indra, Ketut, the garden boys and Putu. This time we also have been able to better experience the special Balinese people and culture. We could not have done better. Villa Insulinde ... a top location !!.

S. Stork (NL) (VI - December 2009) (Translated)

* Enjoy and relax

* Being spoiled

* Exquisite, lovingly and tasteful Villa

* Paradise

* Great staff!!

* Delicious food

* A few weeks too short

In short, fantastic !

R. Haesen (NL) (VI - September 2009) (Translated)

On arrival we were welcomed with fresh juice, warm towels and flower garlands. What a welcome ! In the beginning we were a little overwhelmed by the tremendous luxury that we fell in, but we have enjoyed it tremendously. We will have memories of the friendly people who work here. Because we were accompanied by small children, we had to carefully select what was suitable for us to do. The tips of Putu Agus (driver) and Kadek were very good. We have ridden on elephants in Ubud, made a walk along the waterfalls with Indra´s husband, watched dolphins, visited the turtle sanctuary and then snorkelled in Pemuteran (highly recommended because you can do this directly from the beach). Now back to the 'normal' life. That will take some getting used to.

W. Hochstenbach (NL) (LU - August 2009) (Translated)

We are now back in the Netherlands and as promised we'd let you know how it was. We can be quite short: it was fantastic from the first to the last minute ! Everything was perfect. The location was quiet, the garden was beautiful, the Lumbung a good stay with good beds and nice bathrooms. The pool was certainly not too small and provided pleasant coolness, the sea was for the more serious swimming. Also the facilities and the service were lacking nothing. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we have had fun with them. The weather was excellent and Bali proved particularly beautiful. Internet, we have not missed it. I am working in the IT industry so I'm always happy to not come across computers and internet for a few weeks ! We want to thank you once again, thanks for the fast and smooth way our stay could be arranged; we have had a great holiday that we will not soon forget ! I normally do not like repetition, but this is definitely something to do once again.

M. De Lange (NL) (VI - April 2009) (Translated)

We really enjoyed our stay in your villa, we were however not in the Lumbung but in the villa. We had booked the Lumbung but on arrival we were told that we would stay in the villa, due to maintenance work and problems with the water supply.

About the villa nothing but praise, everything clean, everything works and a great staff ! If I should note something, it is the hassocks in front of the TV, they are not really comfortable if you want to watch a good movie. Maybe the coffee machine can be checked too, the part that contains the coffee sometimes drops off which makes a lot of mess. What we really were a bit disappointed by are the prices for transport to Lovina, especially compared to the rates you pay in the rest of Bali.

But as already said, we had a wonderful week and have already passed on the link to your site to several of our friends.

T. Pels Rijcken (NL) (VI - March 2009) (Translated)

We have a great time in your house, the Villa Insulinde, Bali.
The location at sea, the open garden, the lounge space and atmosphere are good. It is a wonderful holiday house for families with children.
Compliments for Agus for the driver, Indra the cook and Kadek the room boy.
All three do their utmost best to do their work as good as possible and they do very well. Agus does not drive fast but very careful and knows the road well. Indra can cook well in our opinion. With the gardeners and the watchman we had less direct contact, but the garden is fine, the pool is clean and the night watchman Putu helpful and informed of all plans.

We had a wonderful time and are very happy with the choice to start our world trip with three weeks in your new villa in Bali. After this we go to Australia, Hawaii and Galapagos, and we hope we have it as good as our time here.

 

H&H © 2009-2017